Transom

They gagged my mouth, bound my eyes with wire;
I could have walked straight into myself.

Children do not develop self-love.
Like flowers ache for spring,
the damned snake couldn’t stop staring.
Face-to-face with someone else’s sorrow,
I contain neither feeling nor language.
Who wants a window for a lover?

You can see right into me—
death has the face of a giant.

Heart full of madness, covered with kind.

– Les Mots Manquants


Wirebound

They gagged my mouth, bound my eyes with wire –
I could have walked straight into myself,
the wanderer, in evening meditation.

My silence has a spine, a rumble,
a hunger, but
she couldn’t understand.

With someone else’s sorrow,
I whip myself scorned.

You can see right into me:
heart full of madness, covered with kind.

– a.v.c

[This week, we decided to follow a different structure for our Exquisite Corpse. As opposed to our regular “blinded” back and forth of original lines, we created more of a “grave robber” poem consisting of 24 found lines of literature. As to be expected, the poem that was revealed made little sense, so we each decided to create our own edit of the piece. We restricted our freedom of editing to solely changing punctuation and omitting lines/words where we saw fit, keeping only the ‘best’ parts, as is the nature of grave robber poetry. The following is a list of the pieces from which we extracted the lines of our found poems:]

A Rose Among the Weeds, Maksym Sahaydak
Dear Doctor, Evelyn Lau
Landscape for a Good Woman: A Story of Two Lives, Carolyn Kay Steedman
Wild Rosebush, Rainer Maria Rilke
(Untitled piece), Rudy Francisco
Last Night’s Leftovers, Miel Enage
Milk and Honey, Rupi Kaur
Motherland, Jericho Brown
A Question About Insecurity, Mariel Madrid
I remember, Damien Rice
Render, Elee Kraljii Gardiner
Stained Glass, Nairy Fstukh
Tokyo, Lianne La Havas
Du Côte du Katanga, Henri Lopes (translation by: Simon Shrimpton-Smith)
Motives and Thoughts, Lauryn Hill

